Support for Councils and Clerks

Norfolk ALC, a ‘not for profit’ organisation, is registered with the Financial Conduct Authority as a Cooperative Society, which provides services to its members.

Our Patron

The Lady Dannatt MBE
HM Lord‑Lieutenant of Norfolk

Philippa Dannatt was born into an old Norfolk family. She remains a partner in her family farm. Whilst serving as a military wife she trained as a professional counsellor, formerly volunteering at the Sue Lambert Trust in Norwich to help survivors of abuse.

Lady Dannatt has served as High Sheriff, taking mental health as her theme. She is a Lay Canon of Norwich Cathedral, Vice President of SSAFA and a former Deputy Chair of its Adoption Panel. She is also President of The Army Widows’ Association, President of The Norfolk Club and active Patron of numerous county-based organisations, particularly those involved with mental health.

Lady Dannatt lives in Keswick near Norwich with her husband Richard. They have four married children and eight young grandsons and a granddaughter.

Lady Dannatt was appointed as HM Lord-Lieutenant of Norfolk in August 2019.

Our President

Professor Tim O’Riordan OBE DL FBA

Tim feels honoured to be elected to the Presidency of both Norfolk ALC and CPRE Norfolk

He was born and educated in Edinburgh and came to Norfolk in 1974 from British Columbia, Canada, where he began his academic career in Simon Fraser University in Vancouver

He was very active in research and teaching in the School of Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia for the subsequent 35 years

He served in the Broads Authority for 20 years, and help to set up the How Hill Educational Charity in 1980

He has been active in many environmental campaigns in Norfolk and far beyond, and is proud of the legacy of talented students who continue his mission all over the world

Tim is very passionate about wellbeing as a central purpose of human existence and of the moral importance of shifting to sustainable living and appreciating each other’s virtues, so that all of us and all of our offspring and continue to share with joy and gratitude this unique planet which we occupy

Governance Arrangements

Structure chart

Key features:

  • Governing Act: Co-operative and Community Benefit Societies Act 2014.
  • Members hold one share, with voting one member, one vote.
  • Our Board is elected from the members.

Our Board

Allan Wright – Beighton

Janet Holdom – Fakenham

Madeleine Ashcroft – Sheringham (Chairperson & Company Secretary)

Sue Lintern – Stoke Ferry

Victoria Holliday – Cley

Nigel Light – Great Yarmouth area

Co-opted/invited to meetings – Margaret Dewsbury (NCC)